You are not logged in.

Brew cherry popped

• xenon
  • Topic Author
More
9 years 9 months ago - 9 years 9 months ago #1332 by xenon
Brew cherry popped was created by xenon
So like a hero I decided i would brew an all grain as my first brew. I have to say the hardest part was the patience in assembling all the equipment, testing it and being organised. I almost brewed an extract so many times just to get a run on the board, but because i'd put so much time an effort into an all grain it actually raised more questions and i lost confidence with it. So stuck to plan A. All grain baby!

I had 2 issues. Nothing detrimental, well hopefully (someone with expreonces can hopefully shed some light)
1. I only ended up with 14L post boil. This was due mostly to my cheap K-Mart measuring jugs being 400ml inaccurate!!! I realized when filling the fermentor then proofed them against a Pyrex bake jug. I also did not know how much residual water would be retained by the grain and as its my first time did not pay enough attention when collecting wort. It looked light but yeah first brew. I added 4L of fresh water and measured 1.062/3. So could of added more but really was a little in the dark on the effect of the beer so left it at that. Hope it doesnt come out at 10%ABV well if its tasty then spose that will be okay
2. I thought a standard siv would take alot of the sediment out. Even when poring carefully this is not the case. Its not to dramatic just annoying. I'll convert my pot and add a ball valve or buy an easi-siphon.

IPA
5.3K of Pale Malt
.300K of Crystal
.300K of Carapils
73 Grams of NZ Cascade 18g 60 min 18g 30min rest at flame out and steep for 10 min.
Irish moss 10min

Fermenting at 19 deg. Mash 65-66 for 90. Boil for 90. Cool and picth US -05. I made a starter for shits and gigs. Apologies on the non specific recipe. I'm still learning. Will let you know how it tastes and take a pic. Attached is my equipment and the day

Cheers
Attachments: