You are not logged in.

Cheap electric elements

• MTbottle
  • Topic Author
More
7 years 2 months ago #2286 by MTbottle
Cheap electric elements was created by MTbottle
In your video "How to install cheap Kettle Elements for HLT or Boil Pot Home Brewing " I was wondering if you have one of those extra (demonstrator) elements laying around that you could measure the Ohms Resistance for me. As a former appliance tech, I know a bit about heating elements, wattage, etc., so I am wanting to compare the resistance of your 220v element to my 110v element that's available here. In the video, I believe you said that the elements were 2400W, and the ones here are 1500W - IF they were the same, I believe the U.S. ones would be 600W!
Some of our stove appliances are run at lower voltage as a lower wattage element (i.e. costs, savings, etc.). For instance, if you run a 220v element at 110v it cuts the wattage by a factor of 4 (1/2 the volts = 1/2 the current [amps] = 1/4 the watts). In case someone from the U.S. is reading this and doesn't understand, here's an explanation from homebrew.stackexchange.com/questions/618...voltage-calculations :

"An electric element is a resistive load, with constant resistance. Consequently, the power rating is given relative to the voltage across the element. Since we know the power and the voltage, we can work out the constant resistance. For a 4500W element at 240V you have
P = V^2/R, or R = V^2/P = 240*240/4500 = 12.8 ohm.
When running at 240V, the current across the element is I = V/R = 240/12.8 = 18.75 A.
If you then reduce the voltage to 120V, the current is correspondingly halved also: I = V/R = 120/12.8 = 9.375A.
Calculating power, P = VI = 120*9.375 = 1125W
The key to the 1/4 power is that because of the constant resistance, when you reduce the voltage by half, you also reduce the current flowing through the element also by half, hence the 1/4 power. "