You are not logged in.

First brew with fermentasaurus....wisdom please!!

• ajburnet
  • Topic Author
More
6 years 8 months ago #2550 by ajburnet
Hi folks,

My first brew (all grain) with my fermentasaurus under pressure is, I think, almost ready. I'm new to this and have a few questions that hope you seasoned brewers can help with!!?

The OG was spot on to my recipe (Brewdog Punk IPA) at 1.055 with a 24L batch. The recipe called for a typical 14 day fermentation although I just checked the SG at day 10 which is at 1.010, a few points of the target which was 1.012. I guess things happen a little faster under pressure.

What would cause it to be a few points off, and I does it matter, just a little stronger right?

Also, it doesn't seem to be carbonated yet - I have a relief valve on it set and keeping it to 11-12psi. Do I need to keep it under pressure longer, i.e. condition in the fermentasaurus under pressure? How long typically would that be?

Otherwise, I guess I'll have to force carbonate in my keg and carbonate in bottles (I was planning on kegging some and bottling the rest using the bottling gun I grabbed).

Any thoughts greatly received!

Thanks!

Alex.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
6 years 8 months ago #2551 by Gash
Gday mate, yep it'll be just a touch stronger, maybe mash temp was slightly lower, could be a few things, brewing is a very organic process things can be a point or two off and you'll never really know why. It's strange that its at 12psi and not carbonated, my feeling would be that if you chill and keep the pressure up it will be fine, you'll need to hook up the CO2 bottle, but it should be fine in a day or two. Warm beer holds less CO2. If it is already cold just hook the gas up and again I think it'll be fine very quickly. Cheers!

• ajburnet
  • Topic Author
More
6 years 8 months ago #2552 by ajburnet
Cheers for advice!